Council Elections 2017

Candidates for 2017 Election:

This year, there are three nominees for two available spots on the five member Village Council. The three candidates are Katya Hill, Katie Filipczyk Howard, and Richard Krajeck. Click here for candidate statements.

Audio from the Council Candidates’ Forum on April 20, 2017:




Dear Neighbors,


Applications for absentee ballots will be accepted

from 9 a.m. today, Tuesday, April 18,

until 3 p.m. on Wednesday, May 10, 2017.


The short application form and absentee ballot instructions are in the official election packet that has been mailed to all VMA households, and are available in the Village Office. The application and instructions can also be downloaded by Clicking here.


The Election Committee will assign random numbers to the absentee ballots again this year, to protect your voting privacy and security.  Please check to make sure that you’ve put the assigned ballot control number on the outside of your envelope when you return your completed ballot.


Have any questions? Please contact the VMA Election Committee at, or call the Election Committee Chair at 301-654-0176.



Local democracy matters – please take the time to vote!

Best regards from your 2017 Election Committee:

Marty Langelan, Naomi Naierman, Steve Trowern,

Natalie Straus Welle, and Lauren Shweder Biel


March 12         Opening day for nominations.

April 11           Last day for nominations.

April 20          Candidates’ Forum 7 p.m. at the Village Office

May 11            Election Day! Voting from 5 to 8 p.m. at the Village Celebration in front of the shops.


If you have any questions about the election process, you are always welcome to contact us at We’ll get back to you promptly!


Your 2017 Village Election Committee:

 Marty Langelan, Naomi Naierman, Steve Trowern,, Natalie Straus Welle, and Lauren Shweder Biel